Five Bulldogs named to Academic All-State team

The Texas High School Coaches Association (THSCA) and State Farm Insurance announced the THSCA Academic All-State Football teams for 2007-08 and Brady had six high school players named to the first and second teams.’ The teams are selected by a point system that awards points for GPA, class rank and SAT or ACT score. The student athletes are then placed on teams according to the number of points they have earned.’ The Elite team represents the highest point total that can be achieved. Criteria required to be nominated is 1. Overall GPA of 92 or above, including grades 9-12 and the first six weeks of grade 12; 2. Be a member of the team in good standing at the time of nomination; 3. Be of good moral character.’ The program is in its 6th year and has steadily grown to over 2,000 applicants. State Farm Insurance recently began a sponsorship of the THSCA Academic All-State Football teams that will span several years.’State Farm is pleased to partner with the Texas High School Coaches Association’, said Ronnie Vandiver, marketing manager for State Farm.’The benefit the students receive by participating in these programs with such great role models is phenomenal.’ First team members from Brady are Jace Fincher and Michael Onyegbaduo. Second team members include Clayton Hallford and Luke Sammons. Brantley King received honorable mention. ‘This is a very big honor to be named to this team,’ said Brady Athletic Director Glen Jones. ‘These young men are to be commended for being honored with this distinction. This group is an elite group and they should all be proud of this accomplishment.’

Leave a Comment