79 Brady High seniors graduation candidates

May 17-20, 1966 Graduating exercises for 79 Brady High School seniors will be held at Bulldog Stadium May 26 at 8 p.m. with the Rev. Bill Kenney, pastor of the First Baptist Church, delivering the commencement addresses. The Bulldog band will play the processional and music during the ceremonies. The Rev. Robert Graham, pastor of the Presbyterian Church, will deliver the invocation with the Rev. William S. Douglas, rector of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church pronouncing the benediction. The salutatory will be given by Jeffrey Anderson and the valedictory by Connie Sue Engdahl. Awards will be presented by Mrs Clementine Holbrook of the Business and Professional Women’s Club; Mrs. Edward Geeslin of the Damrosch Music Club; Dr. Jerry Wood of the Rotary Club and Mrs. M. R. Willhelm of the Sorosis Club. The honor students’ awards will be presented by Supt. C. A. Reynolds. Prin. Boyd Hunt will present the class to Jean F. Williams, vice-president of the Board of Trustees, who will present the diplomas. The members of the BHS graduating class are: Jeffrey Anderson, Sarah Bara, Carol Barekman, Barry Bivens, Edwin Blacklock, Jan Bratton, Johnny Bratton, Bert Broad, Patti Bryson, Karen Burk, Dannelle Clevenger, Ava Dahlberg, Gary Davenport, Kathy Day, Janie Delacerda, Linda Dodds, Mike Easterwood, Connie Engdahl, Carolyn Espinoza, Karen Feazelle, Donzelle Fielden, Michael Flanagin, Richard Garcia, Richard W. Geeslin, Mary Ann George, Hilda Gonzales, Ofilia Gonzales, Willie Gonzales, Dolan Hargrove, Darrell Hill, Johnny Jones, Dennis Lane, Lazaro Ledezma, Sara Ledezma, Theresa Lewallen, David Lanier Lohn, Bertha Neell Lot, Genevia Lott, Robert McBee, Rena McBroom, Larry McCarroll, Karen McCulloh, Cleve McDonough, Bill McNatt, Esperanza Martinez, Dwight Micklethwait, Bob Miller, Paula Miller, Adon Moreno, Petra Moron, Archie Morris, Delores Morris, Nicky Neal, Danny Olin, Linda Parker, Cheryl Penn, Charlene Powell, Jerry Priddy, Sandra Reed, Alfred Reeves, Steve Rockwell, Billie Roddie, Helen Ruiz, Claire Schaeg, Terry Self, Bobbie Smith, Sammy Smith, Steve Snodgrass, George Spiller, Fernando Torrez, Bobbie Wade, Sheryl Wall, Tommy Wallace, Bernay Ward, Betzy Williams, Kenneth Wilton, Richard Winters, Mike Faver, Sharon Sellman. *** Joan and Reva win gold medals at twirling contest Joan Breckenridge and Reva Hargrove won four gold medals at a twirling contest held in Glen Rose last Saturday. The contest was conducted Calvin Conway in accordance with the University Interscholastic League rules. It was sponsored by the Glen Rose Chamber of Commerce. Joan and Reva each received a Division I rating in solo performances as well as Division I rating in duet performance. Both are twirlers for the Brady High School Band. *** D.H. Milburn hurt in highway accident Friday D. H. Milburn, 62, McCulloch County farmer and rancher, was painfully injured last Friday afternoon about 2 p.m. when a car driven by Gillous M. Young of San Antonio crashed into the front of the tractor cultivator he was riding. Milburn was traveling toward town on the San Angelo highway near the three-way when Young approached the intersection of the Coleman-San Angelo highway from the north. Young crossed the highway and apparently failed to see Milburn. The tractor as well as the car was heavily damaged. Milburn was taken to Brady Hospital by Wilkerson ambulance. He received a scalp laceration and bruises and abrasion on his back. Highway patrolmen investigating the accident said Young was charged with failure to yield right-of-way. *** Bloomer and Myers Lohn honor grads Wilson Bloomer and Burl J. Myers have been named honor graduates of Lohn High School according to Supt. James G. Hibbs. Bloomer, son of Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Bloomer of Lohn, had a four-year average of 87.88; Myers, son of Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Myers, had a four-year average of 85.71. Highest ranging senior of the class was Joe Wayne Byrd with a four-year average of 91.23 ‘three years at McCamey and one at Lohn, but did not attend the Lohn School the required amount of time to qualify as valedictorian. He is the son of Mrs. Nette Byrd, English teacher in the Lohn School. Eighth grade honor students at the Lohn School are Gayle Smith, valedictorian and Rebecca Hestor, salutatorian. Gayle is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joe Smith, and Rebecca is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Hestor. *** PERSONAL MENTIONS Guests of parents Mr. and Mrs. Roy Sallee, Pamela and Stephen, of Ira, were brief guests of his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Guy Sallee, on Mother’s Day. They were enroute home from the Inter-scholastic League Meeting in Austin. The group was joined by Mrs. and Mrs. Gordon Newton for lunch at the Plateau Restaurant.

Leave a Comment