McCulloch favors winning candidates

May 10-13, 1966 As McCulloch County goes, so goes the state. That statement has held true on practically every statewide election in modern times, and the Democratic primary last Saturday was no exception. McCulloch County gave Gov. John Connally and Lt. Gov. Preston Smith votes of confidence in their conservative government. They piled up huge leads from the start which continued throughout the night as reports came from the Texas Election Bureau in Dallas. McCulloch gave Smith the biggest vote, 1,484, while his opponent Bill Hollowell tallied 340. Gov. Connally polled 1,477 and Waggoner Carr 1,476 to lead the ticket. John F. Onion of San Antonio ran strong in the Court of Criminal Appeals as did Jerry Sandler, re-elected as Commissioner of the General Land Office. Crawford Martin, who visited Brady on two occasions while campaigning led in the three- man race for Attorney General. The former Secretary of State polled 992 votes to swamp his opponents Galloway Calhoun and Franklin Spears. Spears did, however, get in the runoff with Martin in the only state-wide race coming up in the second primary in June. Byron Tunnell, in the race for his full term as Railroad Commissioner, ran away from both his opponents in McCulloch County as well as the rest of the state. Tunnell, former Speaker of the House, received 1,312 votes in McCulloch County. *** Lane places third in State UIL meet Dennis Lane, Brady High School’s only qualifier for the state track meet, placed third in the shot put event last Friday in Austin. Lane heaved the steel ball 54′ 3.5″ to score seven points for Brady. First place was won by Ronnie Lightfoot with a toss of 59’3.5″. Taylor won the 2A division of the meet. *** Large attendance at Rochelle chuck wagon supper A good crowd was in attendance for a good meal and a good time at the Rochelle Study Club’s annual Chuck Wagon Supper last Friday evening. Barbecue with all the trimmings was served at 6:30 p.m. so everyone could attend the Brady FFA Rodeo. Mrs. Arthur Neal and Lloyd Moseley were in charge of ticket sales. Mrs. Lloyd Moseley and Mrs. Richard Moseley took up tickets. The Rochelle residents take pride in the upkeep of the Rochelle Community Center. The shrubbery and lawn are well kept and the center has its own water well. All proceeds from the Chuck Wagon Dinner go back into the center for upkeep and improvements. In the near future another room with a stage will be added to the building. *** Tigers lose 7-5 to Mason team The Brady Tigers lost last Sunday afternoon to the Mason team, 7-5. Larry Peel of Salt Gap, pitched for the Brady nine. Playing for the locals were Raymond Camargo, Raymond LaFuente, Billy Cavin, Pete Sanchez, Felix Ramirez and Peel. Team manager is Joe Cervantes. The Tigers will play a team from San Angelo, Sunday afternoon at 2 p.m. at Richards Park. *** Uniform Cotton planting date urged in county Emory Boring, area entomologist with the Texas Extension Service and Charles Stenholm, executive vice president of the rolling Plains Cotton Growers Association, were guest speakers at a cotton meeting in Lohn last Thursday. Boring discussed cotton insects and control measures while Stenholm spoke of the activities and goals of the Rolling Plains Cotton Association. Stenholm discussed at length the uniform planting date for cotton in order to help control the boll weevil. The 27 farmers present were in favor of contributing 15 cents a bale for last year’s cotton crop in order to help control the cotton survey work this summer. The group suggested May 23 as the beginning of the uniform planting date in McCulloch County. New county directors elected were Howard Bloomer and Stanley Moore, who will replace James Finlay, Jr. and Owen Rudolph. *** Lohn students visit library Nineteen third and fourth grade students of Lohn Elementary and their teacher, Mrs. Oma Tedder, visited the Richards Memorial Library Friday morning. Students in attendance wereDavid Huie, Jimmy Rodgers, Johnny Hester, Bobby Moore, Patty Solsbery, Jo Anne Doyal, Brenda Phillips, Delores Perez, Charlie James, Robert Perez, Andrew Salazar, Debra Hibbs, Lyla Lohn, Lupe Nuncio, Paula Hill, Ronnie Moore, Bobbie Pearce, Raymond Hernandez and Reyes Amaya. They were accompanied by Johnnie Hibbs, first grade; Johnnie Hill, Debbie Solsbery and Allen Moore, pre-schoolers and Mrs. George Hill and Mrs. Glenn Huie, mothers.

Leave a Comment