Irene Reed, 96

Irene Odessa Reed, 96, died Sunday, April 8, 2007, at Hendricks Hospital in Abilene. She was a longtime educator and resident of Brady. Funeral services will be held Saturday, April 14 at 1 p.m. at St. James Baptist Church with Rev. Selester Johnson officiating. Burial will follow in Rest Haven Cemetery under the direction of Heritage Funeral Home. Born March 26, 1911, in Hammond to Mary Jane and Faith Hammond, she was a 1929 graduate of Central High School in Galveston, She attended Prairie View A&M College and obtained a degree in home economics in 1939. Before finishing college, she taught in Oakwood. She began teaching in Brownwood in 1939 where she met and married Alonzo Lee Reed, Jr. They lived in Brownwood for seven years, then moved to San Angelo. They lived there for three years before moving to Brady in 1949. She became a member of St. James Baptist Church in 1949 and served as the president of the Baptist Training Union and was a Sunday School teacher. She taught first and second grades as well as algebra I at Dunbar School from 1949 to 1966 when the school closed. She was director of the Brady Multiple Purpose Center until she retired. She was also the manager of Willie Washington swimming pool each summer until it closed. Irene was a volunteer for the Community Chest and March of Dimes, and she joined the Eastern Star in Oakwood as a young woman. Survivors include her children, Alonzo Reed III, and Sandra Reed, of Abilene; a daughter-in-law, Benita Reed; three grandchildren, Andrea Reed of Arlington, Yvonne Reed of Lewisville and Angela Ansley of Abilene; a grandson-in-law, Rodrick Ansley; four great-grandchildren; a first cousin; three sisters-in-law; and numerous nieces, nephews, students and friends. She was preceded in death by her husband of 55 years, her parents, a sister, Ora Hammond; a great- granddaughter, Andrea Ansley, an uncle, Charles Love; aunts, Viola Hoyt, Irene Jones, Oddie Shaw, Lula Love, Pearl Payne and Callie Williams. Pallbearers will be Johnny McBride, Dale Randle, Morris Williams, M.C. Routt, Robert Hebart and Rickey Inman. Honorary pallbearers will be Robert Sephus, Robert Callaway, Mark Revarda, Don Menefield, Vernon Jones, Robin Callaway, Ezxelle Murray, Rodrick Ansley, Albert Honson, Danny Walton, Phillip Magan and Bill Wallace.

Leave a Comment