TSGRA District 7 to meet in Melvin April 12

Members of the Texas Sheep & Goat Raisers’ Association in District 7 will meet Thursday, April 12 at Jacoby’s Feed Store in Melvin. Registration and refreshments will start at 5:30 p.m., followed by a lamb and goat dinner at 6 p.m. The meat will be cooked by barbecue chef Stuart Speck. The business portion of the meeting will get underway immediately following the meal. Stuart Speck is District 7 chairman and is in charge of the meal and other arrangements. An informative program has been arranged. TSGRA president Gary McGehee will be on hand to report on his recent trip to Washington and issues discussed there as well as other TSGRA activities. Bob Turner, rural issues lobbyist, will report on the current session of the Texas Legislature; Benny Cox of Producers Livestock Auction in San Angelo will report on marketing of goats, hair sheep and wool sheep. The meeting will conclude with the election of directors for the 2007-2008 term. District 7 consists of Brown, Burnet, Lampasas, Llano, McCulloch, Mason, Mills and San Saba counties. Now serving as directors are: Jim Schunke, Goldthwaite; Ted Smith and Janet Willmann, Mason; A. J. Probst, Conley Purcell, Dick Winters and R. C. Zesch, Brady; Joe R. Miller, San Saba; Klein Reed and Stuart H. Speck, Lohn; David Holubec and Jason Jacoby, Melvin. “Honorary Directors for Life” are: David Bratton, Rochelle; R. C. Zesch and Willie Ray Willmann, Mason; Herman Hitzfelder, Jr., Art; Charles Hartman, Llano; Glynn Sanders, Mullin; A. J. Probst and Conley Purcell of Brady. Herman Moore of Brownwood and Jule Richmond of Blanket are association past presidents.

Leave a Comment