World Class Rodeo draws 432 entries

Scores of spectators filled the seats at Brady’s G. Rollie White Complex during the July Jubilee festivities to witness cowboys and cowgirls in a head-to-head showdown to take home their share of the more than $25,000 in prize money. The two-night performance of the World Class Rodeo (WCR) was just one of the highlights of Brady’s 77th Annual July Jubilee. The first-ever WCR event in Brady drew 432 entries and plans are already underway to ensure that a second visit is carried out. Eight-time world champion bullrider Donny Gay announced the Friday night event and according to rodeo officials and Chris McDonald, vice president of WCR, the action was as good as professional rodeos can get. Rodeo performers like world champion bullrider Poncho Flores, Lisa Dudley, the number one barrel racer in the world and Jeff Wilson, the current world champion saddle bronc rider were on the list to compete. Sponsors for the event were James Long Real Estate, Brady Veterinary Hospital and Randolph Dodge of Brownwood. “The crowd was a little down in numbers, but we feel like the weather was a bit of a problem,” said Brady/McCulloch County Chamber of Commerce Executive Vice President DeLaine Poe. “It rained Friday night just before the rodeo got underway. That probably deterred some people, but overall we are very happy with the rodeo’s success.” Mrs. Poe also reported that WCR has already contracted Gay to announce another Brady event planned for sometime next year. The following is a list of winners for each rodeo event conducted this past weekend at the G. Rollie White Complex: Bareback 1. Clayton Foltin 2. Chris Burnside 3. Jason Mouton 4. Eric Frazier Steer Wrestling 1. Clay Hass 2. Mark Wendler 3. Garret Mamahan 4. Bud Champion Saddle Bronc 1. Pete Ellis 2. Joey Sonnier 3. Don Hennerson 4. David Terry Break-a-way 1. Shelly Arrington 2. Kristen Ermis 3. Jenna Brooks 4. Jackie Hobbs Barrels 1. Joanna Stone 2. Morsan Van Winkle 3. Kelly Harrell 4. Somerlynn Scott Calf Roping 1. Don Ed Eddleman 2. Richard Johnson 3. Sterling Smith 4. Kelly Wampler/Price Perce Team Roping 1. Dustin Mueller/Keagan Duncan 2. Morris McWhorter/Ross Turner 3. Tom Bierschwale/Tom Wren 4. Matt Petrice/Dee Rampey Bull Riding 1. Pete Uhalde 2. Jason Moore 3. Ronnie Kitchens 4. Jeff Baraloski 5. Dave Estes 6. Pace Newman

Leave a Comment