Primary Early Voting kickoffs off on Feb. 25

In preparation for the upcoming general election scheduled for Tuesday, March 12, McCulloch County Clerk Tina Smith has asked the Brady Standard-Herald to announce dates and times for early voting. Early voting by personal appearance will run from Monday, Feb. 25 through Friday, March 8. Early votes may be cast at the McCulloch County Courthouse in the office formerly held by the sheriff’s department. In a previous meeting, the Commissioners authorized Mrs. Smith to hire one temporary part-time person to assist the clerk’s office with early voting. Experienced with the election process, former election judge, Jane Lemke, will assume the two-week position. The last day to receive applications for ballot by mail is Tuesday, March 5. Mrs. Smith added that the state prefers all counties to use the state issued applications for voting by mail. To obtain an application, voters must stop by the county clerk’s office from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 12. Terms that expire with the county include commissioner seats for both Precinct 2 and Precinct 4, currently filled by Jackie Behrens and Jerry Tedder respectively, county judge currently held by Randy Young, county treasurer held by Donna Robinett and county clerk currently occupied by Tina Smith. Other terms expiring include the Justice of the Peace held by Doris Bryson and district clerk held by Mackye Johnson. Mrs. Bryson is being challenged by Kadhrann J. Hallmark for Justice of the Peace. Running against incumbent Behrens for Precinct 2 Commissioner are Jesse Castanuela and Jerry Bratton. The race for Precinct 4 Commissioner had drawn an unusually high number of candidates. Incumbent Tedder is being challenged by Eddie Burk, Leslie Norman (Buster) Williams, Garon Salter, Archie Morris and a candidate running as an independent, Brent Deeds. Kenneth Adams and Thomas L. Swearingen have both filed to run for McCulloch County Constable. Behrens, Bratton, Castanuela, Morris, Tedder, Williams, Bryson, Hallmark, Smith and Robinett have all filed to run on the Democratic ticket with party chairperson Barbara Bolton. Jacob William (Billy) Mohr Jr. has filed to run for the Democratic chairperson. Mrs. Bolton has elected not to seek another term, stating that “her business takes precedence and deserves her full attention.” Young, Johnson, Burk and Salter all filed to run on the Republican ticket with party chairperson Ken Bull who has elected to seek another term. The appointment of campaign treasurer and candidate/office holder campaign finance report is filed with the county clerk’s office in the McCulloch County Courthouse. The campaign finance report is public record and charts each candidate’s campaign finances (pledge contributions, loans, political expenditures, etc.).

Leave a Comment