Showmanship awards also on exhibitors’ list

After two days of tough showmanship in the ring, the ribbons have been handed out and the placings ranked as 150 exhibitors brought over 400 animals to the show ring during the 42nd annual McCulloch County Junior Livestock Show. Championship entries, showmanship awards and special recognition were handed out to recognize participants for their hard work. Animals as well as their handlers were judged and awards and placings ranked them accordingly. While the animals were ranked in classes according to their breed as well as being grouped into overall categories, the individuals showing the animals were also being judged on their showmanship abilities. Showmanship awards for each category recognize the efforts and show skills of the exhibitor. The criteria for the showmanship includes everything from knowledge of the animal to presentation skills in showing and handling their animals. Showmanship Awards: Jr. Rabbit’Lee Richardson Sr. Rabbit’Wendee Carlson Jr. Angora’Jerimy Allgood Sr. Angora’Robert Tetens Jr. Meat Goat’Brandon Airheart Sr. Meat Goat’Reed Williams Jr. Sheep’Kristyn Jacoby Sr. Sheep’Reed Williams Jr. Swine’Jessica McAnally Sr. Swine’Jeremy Couvillion Jr. Cattle’Abby Probst Sr. Cattle’Lance Helberg Other awards presented to individual exhibitors for their efforts throughout the show included the Top Hand Award sponsored by the McCulloch Division of Cap Rock Electric. This award was presented to Tyler Williams. The Mary and I.O. Kothmann Workhorse Awards for both boys and girls are given to individuals who show effort above and beyond throughout the duration of the show . This year’s boys work horse award was presented to Adam Jacoby and the girls’ award was presented to Jenna Behrens. The Ovey Taliaferro Rotating Trophy award was presented to Tanya Swenson while the Rajean and Bray Behrens Memorial Trophy was presented to Megan Schaffner. The Guy Siler Memorial trophy as well as the Bo Powell Memorial trophy both went to Jenna Behrens while Robert Tetens was named as the recipient of the Junction Stockyards Award.

Leave a Comment