Area students named to ‘Who’s Who Among American High School Students’

A total of 43 students from this area are included in the 35th Annual Edition of “Who’s Who Among American High School Students, 2000-2001.” “Who’s Who,” published by Educational Communications, Inc., Lake Forest, Ill., is the largest recognition program and publication in the nation honoring high achieving high school students. Students are nominated by high school principals and guidance counselors, national youth group, churches and educational organizations based upon students’ academic achievement and involvement in extracurricular activities. Traditionally, 99 percent of “Who’s Who” students have a grade point average of B or better and 97 percent are college bound. The 35th annual edition of “Who’s Who Among American High School Students, 2000-2001,” published in 18 regional volumes, features over 750,000 students or just five percent of the nation’s 15,000,000 high school students. They represent approximately 20,000 of the 24,000 public, private and parochial high schools in the country. “Who’s Who” students also compete for $200,000 in scholarship awards and participate in the publication’s Annual Survey of High Achievers, an annual opinion poll of teen attitudes. The book is distributed on a complimentary basis to up to 15,000 high schools, colleges, universities and public libraries throughout the country. To learn more about “Who’s Who Among American High School Students, ” visit Local students selected include: From Brady’Chris L. Airheart, Tamara Barr, Rhett Behrens, Damon M. Boyd, Angela M. Castanuela, Jamie D. Cooley, Lora R. Covey, Michelle L. Devenport, Wyatt Dodds, Jessica E. Dubose, Roger Gass, Heather N. Gray, Charles M. Hallford, Robert A. Hays, Krystal K. Jacoby, Stanley G. Lewis, William E. Lohn V, Kristin Lundgren, Amy L. Newman, Lacy N. Nowlin, Lance R. Owens, Kayce L. Pollok, Tiffany Price, Eileen D. Ruiz, Chelsea Rutherford, Meagan Schaffner, James R. Shelby, Jacquelyn D. Skaggs, Patrick R. Smith, Karly Steffens, Robert R. Tetens, Samuel Torres, Nicholas O. Villa, Corey Villarreal, Charles J. Villegas and Jenny L. Walthall. From Lohn’Brian Hovorak; and from Rochelle’Jonathan D. Allen, TK R. Morris, Lacy Singleton, Chase C. White and Jacki Williams.

Leave a Comment