News from the Retired Teachers Association

The McCulloch County Association of Retired Teachers met recently at the Caf’ at the Depot for their luncheon and their final meeting of the 2000-01 year. President James Price was in charge of the meeting. The dutch treat luncheon was enjoyed by a good group of members. The new officers for the year beginning on July 1 were installed by Librarian Mrs. Ann Shuffler. New officers include president, Mildred Weatherman; first vice president, Mary Bates; second vice president, Winifred Rhea Burk; secretary/treasurer, Frances Huntington; legislative, G.S. Hubbard; information and protective services, Carol Gassiot; community volunteer services, Ruth Carson; health care, Diana Tate; and telephone committee, Laurissa Rawlings. There were several certificates of awards given by the state and were presented by Mrs. Weatherman. Max Gordon, superintendent of the Brady ISD, was recipient of a certificate of appreciation for his cooperation with the local unit and also for allowing them to meet in the trustees’ board room. Mrs. Emagene Haenisch was honored with a certificate for the most volunteer hours turned in by any member of the local RTA unit. She was also awarded a certificate for giving the most volunteer hours of any member of a small RTA unit in Texas. Mrs. Jessalu Lorck was also presented a certificate of appreciation. Plans were made for programs for the 2001-02 year. The next meeting will be at 9:45 a.m. Sept. 19 in the Brady ISD administrative board room. Members who missed the meeting and prospective members are requested to send dues to Mrs. Huntington. Anyone and everyone who is a retired Texas teacher, bus driver, cafeteria worker, secretary or other school employee is encouraged to join the McCulloc

Leave a Comment