Cotton Bowl committee honors Scott Appleton

Scott Appleton was one of seven college football stars inducted May 15 into the Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame. An all-state gridder during his Brady High School days in the late 1950s, Appleton died while awaiting a heart transplant on March 2, 1992. At 6-3, 239 pounds, Appleton was a fiery competitor at tackle for the Texas Longhorns where he was named All-American two years. He was the Outland Trophy recipent his senior year in 1963. His sister, Tresha Steffens of Austin, accepted the honor at the ceremony on the steps of the historic Cotton Bowl Stadium in Fair Park, Dallas. Two others were also honored posthumously’Syracuse halfback Ernie Davis and Rice coach Jess Neely. Other inductees included Miami defensive tackle Russell Maryland, Arkansas defensive tackle Loyd Phillips, Texas split end Charles (Cotton) Speyrer and Houston coach Bill Yeoman. Each member of the Hall of Fame received a personalized bronze statue in the likeness of a 1930s football player, the era in which the Cotton Bowl was founded. Craig James, a former SMU tailback, a Cotton Bowl Classic participant and current CBS sportscaster, served as the event’s master of ceremonies. A 35-member judging committee comprised of media representatives adn athletic administrators voted from a list of 52 original nominees that included players, coaches, bowl administrators and others who have made special contributions to the Classic.

Leave a Comment