41 BHS students honored at assembly

How do you spend $116,000 in two hours’ Tell 41 different Brady High School students that their high school achievements and accomplishments were enough to get them a scholarship to help further their education after high school. In a two-hour awards assembly Wednesday morning at the BHS auditorium, 41 individuals received scholarship monies and a host of others received awards and recognition for their efforts in the classroom throughout the 2000-2001 school year. This year’s BHS valedictorian Sarah Currie stole the show with scholarships totaling over $65,000 including a $44,000 full tuition honors scholarship to McMurray University as well as a $16,000 Minnie Stevens Piper Scholarship. She was also named as this year’s recipient of the Beryl Thee Award, an award that traditionally is presented to a student who exhibits high moral character as well as being a model student and member of their community. Graduating as the top student in the BHS class of 2001, Currie will be attending McMurry University in Abilene where she plans to major in education and become a teacher. The top ten percent of this year’s graduating class was formally introduced and recognized for their academic standing. Those students were Sarah Currie, Danielle Snodgrass, Alexis Adams, Kati Hines, Allison Allen, Rhett Behrens, Zane Brandenberger and Jenny Morgan. The high point students for the year for the junior and senior classes were Jenna Behrens and Roger Gass for the junior class and Sarah Currie and Rhett Behrens for the senior class. Five students were also recognized for having perfect attendance throughout the past school year. Juniors Amy Pearson and Samuel Torres and seniors Alexis Adams, Sarah Currie and Kristen Lundgren. Lundgren received special recognition and a certificate for having perfect attendance for all four years of her high school career. “These are the people who make our job easier,” said Liesa Land, assistant dean of students. Brandenberger and Condron were presented with certificates of merit from the National Honor Society. Jacque Behrens presented awards and honors to FCCLA members for their accomplishments in both regional and state competitions. Jarrett Dawson, Christina Alvis, Martina Garcia, Angela Castanuela, Marlena Galindo, Jessica Fuentes, Jenna Behrens, Misti Dorrie and Eileen Ruiz were all presented with certificates. BHS principal Preasley Cooper presented his annual award for student leadership to Danielle Snodgrass. A new award and scholarship that was presented this year by two members of the BHS class of 1992, the Eddie Ortegon Memorial Scholarship was presented to Angela Castanuela in the amount of $500. The award was presented by Warren Moorman and Stacey Evans, members of the class and friends of the late Eddie Ortegon. One underclassman, Blake Andrews, was recognized for his efforts both in the classroom and on the playing field and was named as the recipient of this year’s Terry Whitworth Award. Other memorial awards presented during the program included the Veta Young Salutatorian Award which was given to Danielle Snodgrass, the Brady Masonic Lodge Lamar Award given to Sarah Currie, the Ruth Jordan Music Award and Cleve McDonough Scholarship given to Mary Grace Conrad, the Alan Harris Memorial Scholarships to Eric Garcia and Damon Boyd, the Heart of Texas Memorial Hospital Ladies Auxiliary Lena Mae Land and Betty Williams Scholarships to Jessica Fuentes and Angela Dodd. The Tom Glavin Robles Memorial Scholarship went to Jessica Garcia, the Geneva McLain Griffin Scholarship and the Kathy Jackson Memorial Scholarships went to Alisha Condron, the Oglebay Norton/Sherrod Kilmer Memorial Scholarship went to Alexis Adams, the BISD memorial Scholarships went to Lora Covey and Kati Hines and the Dr. William L. Graves Scholarships were presented to Russell Dean, Megan Schaffner and Jenny Walthall each of whom is an underclassmen and will receive their scholarship upon graduation. Allison Allen and Rhett Behrens were named as winners of the Community Banker’s Scholarships. In a special presentation following the naming of the two recipients, Brady National Bank President Kim King announced a new scholarship program through BNB that was pledging $1 million in scholarship funds in a long-term scholarship program for students in the county. The first two recipients of this program are Canuto Ledezma and Allison Allen who each received renewable scholarships for $1,000 per year for four years. Other scholarships and awards presented included: Tech Prep Exemplary Student’Martina Garcia; Central Texas Telephone essay winner’Jenna Behrens; Bausch and Lomb Science Award’Veronica Ramirez; American Legion Boys State’Samuel Torres and Roger Gass; Girls State’Amy Pearson. UIL One-Act Play awards: Cameron Mays, Wyatt Dodds and Will Bratton; U.S. Army Scholar Athlete Award’Rhett Behrens and Kati Hines; Distinguished Athlete Marine Corp Award’Chad Holubec; VFW Voice of Democracy Award’Alisha Condron; Career College Scholarships, Amanda Hagen, Kevin Bucy and Logan Solomon; Ol’ Houn’ Dawgs Scholarships’Shawn Borchert and Crystal Rivera; Terry and Chris Lane Texas Tech Scholarship’Aaron Hayes; McCulloch County Citizenship Awards’Danielle Snodgrass and Jenny Morgan. ATPE Education Scholarship’Kristen Lundgren; Higginbotham Brothers Scholarship’Beth Reinisch; the Brady Youth Sports Foundation Scholarship’Damon Boyd; Sonic Scholarship’Shauna Broz; San Angelo Stock Show Scholarship’Alexis Adams; Rotary Service Scholarship’Jamie Cooley and Beth Reinisch; Baylor University Scholarship’Brooke Adams; McCulloch County Jr. Livestock Assn. Scholarship’Danielle Snodgrass and Zane Brandenberger; Brady FFA Scholarships’Chase Pilgrim and Calli Shelby. The Central Texas Telephone Cooperative Scholarship went to Brandenberger; West Central Wireless Scholarship’Calli Shelby; Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Scholarship’Alexis Adams; West Texas Exes Scholarships’Will Bratton, Danielle Snodgrass and Rhett Behrens; Fellowship of Christian Athletes’Chase Pilgrim; Central Texas College Scholarship’Omar Huerta; Stephen F. Austin Scholarship’J.D. Miller; Abilene Christian University Scholarship’Jenny Morgan; Cap Rock Agriculture Scholarship’Brandenberger; West Texas A&M Scholarship’Alexis Adams; Brady Classroom Teachers Association Scholarship’Marlena Galindo; Super S Foods Scholarship’Jeff Bowden; Lions Club Scholarship’Alisha Condron; Brady Band Boosters Scholarship’Cameron Mays. Several other awards presented included the Principal’s Appreciation Award which was presented to Jim and Tisha Shuffield for their efforts in producing the Shattered Dreams program. The senior class appreciation award was presented to Marsha Garcia and this year’s yearbook dedication was presented by the annual staff who named Mr. and Mrs. Preasley Cooper as the honored couple for this year. Closing out the ceremony, student council president Will Bratton passed the gavel to next year’s president Jacque Skaggs who introduced her officers for the 2001-2002 school year.

Leave a Comment