Fiddlers entertain as students honored

The Brady Lions Club annual Lions Honor Banquet honored 119 students from the three high schools in the county, making this the 42nd consecutive year the civic organization has held the annual banquet. The banquet was attended by over 350 individuals including the District 2-A1 Governor Al Owen of Lions Club International. Honoring the youth of the county was the theme for the evening, but foot-tappin’ fiddle music provided by the Abilene Cooper Fiddlers got some members of the audience out of their seats and on the dance floor as they enjoyed the music. In the 42nd year of honoring area high school students for their academic achievements, the Lions Honor Banquet continues to be part of the civic organization’s efforts to serve the local community in a positive way. To be nominated to receive an award at the banquet, high school students must have maintained at least a B average for the past two semesters as well as be enrolled in at least one honors class. In all, 99 students from Brady, 7 from Lohn and 13 from Rochelle were presented with certificates recognizing their achievement. Following the dinner and presentation, the Abilene Cooper Fiddlers entertained the audience with tunes ranging from classics like San Antonio Rose to modern songs by country music stars Shania Twain and George Strait. Three lucky individuals were selected as prize winners in the raffle drawing. Becky Long and Debbie Linnard each received a shopping spree in Brady valued at over $300 and Lee Coffman received two tickets to a San Antonio Spurs basketball game. Those who were honored Monday night were: Brady High School Seniors Alexis Adams Krystal Adams Allison Allen Rhett Behrens Jeffrey Bowden Zane Brandenberger Aaron Browning Alisha Condron Mary Grace Conrad Frank Corder Drew Cory Sarah Currie Angela Dodd Jessica Garcia Aaron Hays Kathryn Hines Kristen Klein Patrick Ledezma Cameron Mays J D Miller Jennifer Morgan Beth Reinisch Crystal Rivera Calli Shelby Danielle Snodgrass Juniors Margarita Aguero Jenna Behrens James Burttschell David Cruz Jarrett Dawson Roger Gass Eric Hernandez Brian Hovorak William Lohn Nicole Longoria Mario Luna Lacy Nowlin Jana Partin Amy Pearson Luke Price Texana Reed Chelsea Simpson Jacquelyn Skaggs Karly Steffens Leah Vickers Sophomores Blake Andrews Jacob Bowden Francisco Castro Russell Dean Michelle Devenport Ross Fible Matthew Fields Monica Griffith Cody Holubec Montie King Kevin McFarland Joe McKnight Christopher Moreno Bryson Owen Oscar Patino Kayce Pollok Erin Rainey Leslie Ranne Eileen Ruiz Meagan Schaffner Ryan Schmidt Diane Shuffler Patrick Smith Clifton Tally Cassandra Williams Freshmen Christopher Airheart James Allen James Allred John Baskin Cara Crudgington Stacy Currie Daniel Easley Robyn Galindo Heather Gray Megan Griffith Allison Johnson Jasmine Lafuente Tommy Langseth Stanley Lewis Brandon Linnard Carter McBee Angelina Mings Juan Mireles Willie Munoz Amanda Pellizzari Jeremy Ramon Kirstin Reno James Ross Chelsea Rutherford Nichole Schwertner Charles J. Villegas Cole Whisenhunt John Williamson Tallie Wright Lohn High School Seniors Stephanie Fischer Rachal Johnstone Juniors Brandon Pearce Sophomores David Hays Tanya Swenson Freshmen Samantha Johnstone Jana Solsbery Rochelle High School Seniors Gina Baker Cristin Eckert Belinda Gonzales Lacy Singleton Ricky Teague Juniors Jonathon Allen Adele Richardson Tara Simpson Stacey Smith Sophomores TK Morris Freshmen Cindy Hodges Tanner Stuart John Willmann

Leave a Comment