All-district basketball honors

All-district selections for both boys’ and girls’ basketball for District 14, Region 2/Division 2 have been released and 13 McCulloch County cagers from both Lohn and Rochelle received honors. Rochelle’s Gina Baker received top honors in the girls’ division as the district’s “Most Valuable Player.” A senior and an asset that will certainly be missed in the following seasons, Baker led the district in points, averaging 25 per game. Tanda Cook, a senior point guard for Rochelle, received first team all-district honors. Both Baker and Cook received additional recognition this year from the Texas Six-Man Coaches Association as first team nominations to the Girls South All-Regional Basketball Team. Players who were recognized in District 14 for honorable mention include Krystal Wernecke and Jana Solsbery, both from Lohn and Adele Richardson and Sarah Crowder from Rochelle. Those receiving honors for boys’ first team all-district were J.J. Rodriquez from Lohn and Jamie Williams and Cody Morgan, both of Rochelle. Honorable mentions went to Bill Fore and Richard Bivens, both from Lohn and Jerry Estes and Ricky Teague, both from Rochelle.

Leave a Comment