Golf Association club tournament names winners

Bringing what used to be a long-standing tradition back to life, the Heart of Texas Golf Association recently completed the 2000 Club Championship and named three top winners. Donald Kiesling, David Graves and Denise Nichols have emerged as the top finishers in the month-long tournament. In match play format played over the course of a month, three brackets including championship, first and ladies provided four rounds of tournament action. Kiesling finished as the top golfer in the championship bracket by beating Karlton Steffens in round one, Ray Hawkins in round two, Al Pearson in round three and Richard Roper in the championship match. In the ladies division, Nichols defeated Mae Journeay in round one and Cheryl Epley in round two before outlasting Doris Jones in the title match to take the championship. Graves participated in the first flight and won matches over Wayne Rawlings, Vince Jackson, Terry Virdell and Donald Owens to claim the first place spot. “This is the first year back after a layoff of several years,” said event official Charlie Bush. “We are now going to try and do this each year and get people excited about it. It is really laid back and easy going and people seemed to really enjoy it.” The annual event is expected to take place each August. The tournament is played on an individual match basis at times that are convenient for the two individuals involved. First and second places in each division were awarded cash prizes.

Leave a Comment