Enrollment down at Brady Schools

The Brady Independent School District Board of Trustees met in regular session Monday night for the first time since the start of the new school year. Aside from the attendance rate which reflects a lower amount of enlisted students than last year, reports from each BISD campus were positive. “We’re still not at the enrollment we had last year said Brady Supt. Max Gordon. “We have noticed an increase since the first few days of school however.” A topic that did however raise a considerable amount of discussion was the traffic situation on the Menard Highway to and from Brady Middle School and Brady Elementary School. With new construction on that stretch of highway up-and-coming in the near future, concerns are expected to continue throughout the following months in regard to traffic flow enroute to and from both locations. In the meeting, the school board approved a hearing date for Tuesday, Aug. 31 at 7 p.m. for the 2000-2001 school budget. The balanced budget for the coming year is $8,430,354, a $111,361 difference from last year’s budget. “We made a significant attempt to balance this budget,” Gordon explained. “We’ve done several things to increase our revenue to ensure that our budget balances.” In other business, Gordon announced that Lynn Farris of KNEL and Amanda Howell of the Brady Standard-Herald were named to the Media Honor Roll, a program sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), by Brady ISD. The Media Honor Roll recognizes media representatives statewide who deserve recognition for fair and balanced reporting of news about public schools. Media representatives from almost 400 Texas newspapers and radio and television stations were honored this year by their local school districts. The board approved Lee Coffman as the District 504 Coordinator to replace Hector Montalvo who previously held the title. Twelve additions to the 2000-2001 teacher substitute list were approved in Monday’s meeting. New additions to the list were Nicholas Blyshak, Nancy Bradford, Anna Clevenger, Cheryl Epley, Dayna Fowler, Rachel Gage, Kelli Jacoby, Gene Nelson, Blair Raybion, Cammy Riley, Gricelda Valdez and Carolyn Watkins. Also addressed in the meeting, the school board approved the McCulloch County Appraisal District’s budget for 2001.

Leave a Comment